If Kumi will … will you? #KumiWill

This year’s Earth Hour on March 23 is no ordinary Earth Hour. Climate change is being felt around the world – ravaging communities, destroying lives and livelihoods. We are running out of time, but we can still fix this.

– Kumi Naidoo, Greenpeace’s International Executive Director.

I hope you listened to what Mr. Naidoo said in that video. Perhaps it hasn’t done much to inspire change in you, but consider what is happening today and what will happen if we waste resources unnecessarily. Oil companies are still scouting for drilling sites in the face of rising CO2 levels, record high as of October last year and it is rapidly increasing.

Why? Why do we need to support this when these actions are harming the Earth? No, not the Earth, ouEarth because it is that personal. There are better and cheaper alternatives out there. Fact is that initially solar panels and wind turbines will be expensive, for the cost of materials and installations mostly, but in the long run it is worth it because we will be breathing cleaner and healthier air. Deforestation would no longer be an option, animals won’t be running for their lives any longer. Our Earth won’t be raped of her wealth and health to sustain our lives, and when you think about it it’s pretty selfish.

Greenpeace and other such organizations are doing what they can to stop big coal and fossil fuel chugging companies and converting the others that use their by-products (successful converts: Valentino and Mattel) but we as individuals have our own parts to play, Earth Share have a lot of tips for going green.

The following list is featured on this post, some of these points weren’t included in the video, practicing at least one of these will be enough:

  • Eliminate paper products (not very easily done)
  • Wash laundry with cold water and line dry your clothes (check)
  • Buy used or don’t buy at all/Live with what you already have (trying)
  • Avoid bottled water (will do)
  • Eat vegetarian at least 3 days a week. (I already do this)
  • Bike or walk to work (I wish)
  • Start a small garden/maintain one (my mother keeps plants on the veranda)
  • Use vinegar & baking soda, in replacement of chemicals (I’ll think about it)
  • Don’t buy any products wrapped in plastic packaging (will do)
  • Take cold showers (always)
  • Eat organic (check nope)
9 thoughts on “If Kumi will … will you? #KumiWill

  1. You take only cold showers? I also contribute with shorter showers too, even down in the states they charge for water usage. Organics, I do get every so often too but it’s pricey 😦

    1. It’s often an oven in Guyana so cold showers are welcome, well to me at least. I hadn’t realized I ‘checked’ organics, I have to edit that, sorry about that. It’s inspiring what they are doing, and more so what we all can achieve if we commit together!

  2. I’m in!!! for most of the items, already doing so or trying to. Let’s see how many people can join up in one day and show them that if we did that EVERY day, it would actually change the face of the Earth. Thanks for sharing hope! I’ll share around too!

  3. ▪ Eliminate paper products (I can’t)
    ▪ Wash laundry with cold water and line dry your clothes (yes)
    ▪ Buy used or don’t buy at all/Live with what you already have (what?)
    ▪ Avoid bottled water (yes)
    ▪ Eat vegetarian at least 3 days a week. (I do seven!)
    ▪ Bike or walk to work (no)
    ▪ Start a small garden/maintain one (we grow vegetables)
    ▪ Use vinegar & baking soda, in replacement of chemicals (we use eco-friendly washing stuff throughout the house)
    ▪ Don’t buy any products wrapped in plastic packaging (doing quite well)
    ▪ Take cold showers (no; I am not a masochist)
    ▪ Eat organic (no)

    1. ▪ Buy used or don’t buy at all/Live with what you already have (what?)
      – I interpreted this as reusing what I can, like plastic and glass bottles and shopping bags.

      ▪ Take cold showers (no; I am not a masochist)
      – Haha, nor am I. Normally, exceptions being rainy days, my cold water is a a few degrees below lukewarm so it’s not that bad because it’s almost always hot where I live 🙂

      You’re vegetarian? That’s good, I’ve tried that twice but I was younger then and commitment was a bother but if I try again I might keep going but as it is I hardly eat meat at all.

Talk to me

