Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

Wandering with my camera, I often find my eye drawn to strange bedfellows. Juxtapositions. Foils. Unexpected pairings.

– Michelle W, The Daily Post

 Overcome

I’d taken this some time late last year, right behind the school. The wire lined the entire compound, but this particular part of the fence separated us from the untamed green land some miles beyond. This section was shaded by a dwarf coconut tree, the one I’d like to stand under those hot days and it was on one such sweltering morning when I noticed these vines twisting their way around the length of the wire and the barbs.

The contrast was immediate. Such thriving life form that should dare to advance along these forbidding metal veins, studded with jagged thorns. I see defiance. I see peace. I see perseverance, despite. No matter how much man should advance, the earth will triumph at the end of its long day. I love this instance of juxtaposition. The delicacy and innocence of nature against unyielding  will of man. The imagery contrasts but that last idea is comparison, both strong. They coexist.

What can you divine from this?

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

      1. Cause they stole our cupcakes! you know how evil they are, besides. Yellow and black, I mean seriously! who on earth wears yellow and black stripes 😛

  1. AH yes, the harsh metal and the tender plant. Lovely!

    Sorry I can’t catch up on all of your posts–I’m just trying to make an effort to let you know I’m still alive, kicking, and thinking of you!

Talk to me

