A brief thought (or two) on The Hunger Games, the movie

via Pinterest, click to see pin

I’m watching The Hunger Games for the first time right now, at the part where Katiness volunteers for Prim. I lost control of the dams in my eyes. I paused it go get my composure back before someone finds me.

There are people out there that would remain untouched by the larger tragedies in films, much less of the smaller ones, like that very moment. This may be a  made up world with made up wars, nothing new, but I personally believe that in a world full of greed and power hungry people, anything is possible. Take a moment and consider the possibilities of Panem being our future. Fifty years from now, or five hundred. Hell, we’re seeing rebellion right now in all its blazing finery as I write this, and as you read this.

Belonging to a race of beings capable of such goodness and love I still find it a little hard to believe that there are those of us that can make the darkest of nightmares a reality. There’s no asking why. It just is. Yin and yang, but that’s not to say there’s a balance of good and evil, I refuse to believe in that. There are many of us that live safely enough with little to no problem on most days, maybe we don’t see it but it’s because of the collective nature of goodness of the people around us amongst the grumpy cats and devil possessed bunnies.

Back to the movie, I began to get the jitters when Prim’s scream opened everything up. Jennifer Lawrence … she’s this rock that seems to have everything together, a calming force. I don’t know how recruiters find the right people to play these parts but Jen’s done such a great job being Katiness. Sure, I’m only barely twenty minutes in but I’ve seen the trailers and up to where I am and let me tell you, the room in my mind designated to disappointment remains empty, and it’ll stay that way.

I share Gale’s sentiments of the Capitol’s attitude and mindset as being sick. I hate that everyone is forced to see these young people kill each other. Someone’s brother, sister, daughter, son and friend. In my mind this phrase is playing in a manic singsong loop, “May the odds be ever in your favour,” oh please. At first I imagine these ‘pageants’ were basically set up as an in-your-faces reminder to say who’s still in charge but years later it’s gotten to this point where lives are trivial reality stars in a very real world. A passing pleasure, a cause for celebration to certain people. Those in the twelve districts are forced to effing celebrate the death of their kids. Sick, man.

I could be stoning everyone in the Capitol but I can’t, not everyone’s the same, not everyone is that grotesquely twisted in their logic and way of thinking. If I remember correctly, Effie didn’t turn out to be all bad, even if she was a bit off. She’s a product of her generation where she lives and doesn’t know better. Sienna, on the other hand, is a different person, he knows what’s what and doesn’t believe in this prettily painted carnage they call the Hunger Games but even then he hasn’t a choice. Who does?

I should probably get back to the movie. This time around, I feel pretty content at being on this side of the screen. Except mostly when President Snow comes on.

A note: I’ve read only up to Catching Fire so if anyone would like to discuss the books with me I’d appreciate if you would avoid mentioning spoilers. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “A brief thought (or two) on The Hunger Games, the movie

  1. Haven’t read or watched the Hunger Games, but from what I know about the story, it seems like it is a modern version of the Roman Gladiators. Youth are used as the “sport” rather than slaves–but any disposable class will do for the privileged’s entertainment, right? 😦

    1. Yep, you got it. It’s comforting that’s it’s fiction but what’s scary is that I feel that this stuff could happen, in one form or another. I didn’t get a chance to finish the movie though, it won’t play out 😦 But I’ll more than settle for Robert Downy Jr. and Jamie Foxx tonight in The Soloist 🙂 Thank you for coming by again, my dear lady!

Talk to me

