Essence in a jar

This is for the current photo up for Ermilia Blog’s Picture it and Write! This time I wanted to try out something new; to write a story in fifty words, a challenge I thoroughly enjoyed! I borrowed this format from Vincent Mars, over at Boy with a Hat, who happens to be one of the most impressive writers I’ve had the luck to come across in this great blogosphere. I do recommend you pay him a visit!

via Ermilia Blog
via Ermilia Blog

I fetched my ‘conch’ jar, as I often do, to collect the refreshing salty breeze for those humid days. My little secret, I wait in anticipation while watching the sunset breathe. My eyes flicker downward, not only the wind it seems, but the colours and emotions; the essence of life.

9 thoughts on “Essence in a jar

  1. Great writing, Devina! I agree with the above commenter that it can be hard to express a solid idea with so few words, but you pulled it off wonderfully.

    1. I’ve seen this very photo before in passing but never imagined I’d be writing anything about it at all, in a way it strikes me as funny. I’ve never had anything of mine described as ‘breathtaking’ before and I’m very happy that you found it so! Thanks for visiting, Lorna 🙂

  2. I don’t know about the sunset, but the beach makes me feel what you’ve written here…as if it’s all just a part of me. The wind, the colors, the tide… nicely captured.

Talk to me

