Archangel’s Consort (Guild Hunter #3) by Nalini Singh

via Goodreads
via Goodreads

Rated it: 4 stars                  Recommend it to: UF fans and bad ass angels and vamps, with romance thrown in. It has adult scenes so I’ll have to say readers 18 and up.

Goodreads blurb

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux and her lover, the lethally beautiful archangel Raphael, have returned home to New York only to face an uncompromising new evil…

A vampire has attacked a girls’ school—the assault one of sheer, vicious madness—and it is only the first act. Rampant bloodlust takes vampire after vampire, threatening to make the streets run with blood. Then Raphael himself begins to show signs of an uncontrolled rage, as inexplicable storms darken the city skyline and the earth itself shudders.

The omens are suddenly terrifyingly clear.

An ancient and malevolent immortal is rising. The violent winds whisper her name: Caliane. She has returned to reclaim her son, Raphael. Only one thing stands in her way: Elena, the consort who must be destroyed…

 

I think I liked this last installment much better than the previous two. I believe it’s the only series that has angels in them that I’ve read so far, and frankly I don’t want to get into that at this point, werewolves and vampires are almost run into the ground already. It’s said by a few, actually by one particularly nasty archangel of China, Lijuan, that Elana’s mortal heart will be the death of Raphael. Let’s just say that weakness had in the end revealed itself to be a strength and had Lijuan’s behind singeing *snickers*

Once again, I just love seeing Raphael and Elena together, their kind of relationship is like one in a billion, or somewhere around there. For a guy who’s always gotten what he demanded for over a millennium, Ellie was what he needed to change things up, someone to challenge him in ways no one has ever dared to before.

There were a some loose ends where the fate of Raphael’s mother is yet to be seen. It left me wondering if Vivick’s body would handle vampirism. I sort of hope he will, and I’m not sure what he’ll think about it but it would help him greatly. I believe that it was thoughtful on Elana’s part for coming up with the idea, but not telling him anything as yet, or at least until the test results are in. The vampire-angel concept here is interesting. I enjoyed the interaction between Elana and Raphael’s Seven, those who she came in contact with, especially Illium (Bluebell) and Dimitri. It was a nice read. The next book in the series focuses on Dimitri! But I will have to resist for now.

3 thoughts on “Archangel’s Consort (Guild Hunter #3) by Nalini Singh

  1. Hey, I’m liking that cover!! Love the purple! Book sounds good too, might have to put this one on my ‘to-read-list’ 😉 thanks!!

    1. You might also like the second book’s cover as well, but instead on that on it was a shadow black! I recommend that you begin from the first one or else you might be lost here and there. Nice! Let me know what you think when you get around reading it 🙂

      1. hehe yeah i’ll start from the first book!! Might be a while before I get around to reading it. Might do it around Christmas time, busy with study during the year. But I do read every now and then before that! 🙂 & I will do 😀

Talk to me

