My latest infatuation: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)

via Goodreads
via Goodreads

Oh my goodness! I’ve heard the hype flying around with this series last year and I said to myself why the heck not? Okay so I went to Barnes and Noble for the first time when I was on vacation and I was this on one of their beautiful shelves. I couldn’t pass it like that! I think it was the direwolves that called me. It had to be, and they’re pretty awesome. I hope I can find the other books at my usual book store otherwise I’m stuck with a darn Kindle app.

I’m 175 pages through so far as I write this and I have to know what going to happen next. Sometimes I’m afraid to go on because it’s too much but then if I don’t I won’t ever know what happens, or who dies, who get’s the Iron Throne? So I persevere! I said in an update on Goodreads that I went to YouTube against my better judgement, I just wanted to see how the characters looked like, but no I couldn’t satisfy my curiosity with a couple of videos. I came across a retched spoiler, I knew one of the people I have come to love will die. I take a moment now. But I haven’t got to that part yet so I’ll pretend I don’t know. That is pointless, my friends. Spoilers do not let you forget. I understand YT but come on Goodreads reviewers! For the sake of our reading experience and our tender hearts (tenderness depending on who got beheaded, and it’s a book we happen to adore) please utilize the spoiler feature. Crikey, man.

Seriously.
Boromir understands me.

There’s this professor, Treshan, at my school, we lend each other books (by ‘we’ I mean I lead him mine) and we gush over it together at breaks. I haven’t seen a full episode so he made a deal with me that when I finish I let him borrow my copy of this book in exchange for the first season of the television series. It was a done deal. But today he spoiled my day by telling me a certain something about Jon Snow.

Tresh had this pretty coffee flask thing made out of enamel that he flaunted a few weeks ago. I wanted to break it over his stupid insensitive head. I thought again, I could get in big trouble or worse … expelled. My inner Hermione saved me. Surprisingly my brain has done a remarkable job this time at fooling itself and I make myself believe something else that what I had been told but if I keep referring to this then … well it won’t be as effective so I will stop about that.

‘Infatuation’ might mislead some, the word means:

– to inspire or possess with a foolish or unreasoning passion, as of love (Dictionary.com)

What I feel isn’t ‘foolish’ but it certainly has passion and love in the mix.

In other news, Chemistry had me sailing today and I hope that whatever the heck it is I end up doing in life I hope it has very little to do with that subject. Don’t get me wrong, I see how great it all is and I appreciate that but it has an awful amount of Math in it.

You can expect to hear more about A Game of Thrones from me, I plan on pointing out somethings fellow GR users have made and where and why I think they are wrong. Ah, the beauty and liberated sensation of speaking one’s mind. That’s it for now my dears, cheers!

mmwaah!

13 thoughts on “My latest infatuation: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)

  1. Ah I need to jump on the bandwagon and read this book! Sorry you came across the spoiler, but I’m glad you’re enjoying it – also, I feel the same way about chem… some of the material was alright but I did not appreciate the math. Hopefully I won’t have to take it in college.

    Looking forward to hearing more about this series from you!

    1. Jump right on, I’ll scoot down and make space! Well, sometimes I deserve what I get, but it sucks either way. The course I’m taking is fairly brutal and can’t imagine what I’ll do for labs.
      Oh you will, I think I can’t help gushing about this one 🙂

  2. I bought A Game of Thrones ages ago and still haven’t read it! I better start soon or my friend who spoiled the first two episodes of The Walking Dead (which I then watched in self-defense and grew to love) will spoil Game of Thrones for me because she’s watching the series now. But there’s that critical issue of ‘finding time’.

    Hmm…I guess I just need to know where to look for it.

    1. I hope you do find some time to get into it, you probably have a ton of books to review. Not that into The Walking Dead, when I learned about it it was far into the second season and I’m not sure I would catch up on the drama with the zombies aside. Whatever happens, Carrie, don’t make anyone spoil A game of Thrones for you too, so sooner the better!

  3. I was thinking about it… but, then, I told myself : “another series?” I have been reading series for a long time and sometimes, it just never stops! like the author of “The sword of truth,” Terry Goodking, is writing the 13th book! How am I gonna get unaddicted?!?
    and if I start another one?!? you know there just isn’t 1 book…
    Ah… maybe, I’ll get it anyway! I’m in for reading anyway! 😉 and if you liked it, I’m pretty sure I’ll enjoy it too! but no watching the tv series then! 😛 (I, like a lot of fans of the sword of truth, was very disappointed with the tv series – that the producers decided to stop after 2 seasons anyway…-) Have you read them?

    1. Oh dear, I’m sorry but I almost missed your comment 😦 No, I haven’t read those but I’m curious so I’ll check ’em out. Dang, thirteen books? The only series that I know that surpassed that is Nora Roberts’ In Death series, and heavens no, I haven’t read them all, up till the third one.
      I love series, given that’s it a really good one, because they just keep coming! Only thing though some authors books deteriorate in quality when they overstretch and spoil it, there is only so much it can go …
      Try it, try it, try it! And yes no peeking 😀 From what I glimpsed, its series looked to be really nice. Do tell me what you think when you get into The Game of Thrones 🙂

      1. Yes, sometimes, it feels like the authors keep writing because they’ve seen the $$ potential since readers will keep reading… but, the quality should remain the same otherwise, we’ll get bored. Of the series I talked to you about, the 13th book was a little disappointing for that reason, it kinda felt like it was written to write something but the story doesn’t evolve that much like in the others; sometimes, I think he should have left it where it was at the end of 12th…

        As for Game of Thrones, I might fall into it at some point and will keep you posted! 😉

  4. Reading the 2nd book as you already know and I’m still reading it yes, because I really don’t want to finish it, I want to sip all the pages, because such a wonderful story shouldn’t end too early! Especially that I’m the one who bought it! Happy reading Devina!

      1. I’m going crazy with it! Anyway, I’m also watching the TV series at the same time, and that’s cool in the sense that the author is one of the producers! Thanks!

Talk to me

