It’s 4 o’ clock, are you serious? (Includes a few insights on The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)

Well, that’s the longest title I’ve ever permitted myself to publish. At some point I will begin to ramble, but perhaps you might not realize that I usually do this because I edit to make it look less obvious. My lips are smarting from the pain as I bite the peeling skin. That sounds gross. It is right to say my lips are ‘smarting’? See? I have already began, but I am not going to edit and if I remember I’ll tell you why it’s important to me.

via Goodreads
via Goodreads. I chose this cover instead of the original because it has Emma Watson on it.

Okay, I have sleeping problems and I won’t say it’s insomnia because well I’m distracted all the time by one thing or another but I could rest if I let myself. What usually steals my sleep is reading. Since I got the kindle app I’ve lost so much of it. I can’t bring myself to delete it. I think I need professional help. Now, I’ve been reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower on and off for almost a week and a half but it’s gotten so much interesting that I stayed up till this ungodly hour reading it half way through. Trouble is that the best time to talk about a book or movie is just right after reading or watching it so I might not be as exact as I intended earlier.

Charlie. He is, to slap a label on, this introvert that I believe gives me an inside look on how some introverts think. He really gives a lot to the details that I would fling over my shoulder because of the irrelevance of it at that given moment. Charlie makes me see how much there is to a simple action, a simple inaction, how much there is to see at family gatherings during holidays and when you think about it sometimes you wonder why you weren’t in some daytime television drama series. There is so much in everything that it amazing till it hurts your head.

This fifteen year old boy showed me the importance of friends, from his perspective of not having any to knowing Sam and Patrick, and then temporarily losing them, of what it felt like after. Since I was there all the while I see the contrast clearly and I feel sad for him. I sigh at writing that last sentence because I mentioned for the first time that this book made me feel, all books do this of course but this one touches a part of me that needs a particular kind of contact more often. I haven’t finished but I’ve bonded it already. The characters, I feel that Chbosky has done a good job at capturing the bits and pieces of these teenagers, they feel very real to me.

This book approaches the topics of early smoking (legal and otherwise), about young relationships, abusive ones, healthy ones it touches briefly on abortion. They all meld in the story line so well I wonder if the author himself lived parts of Charlie’s life that gives it this authentic feel to it, or maybe it’s just good writing skills. I laughed and I cried, I cheered on and a cussed. I kicked myself mentally a few times when he mentioned he read some books that I passed on like Catcher in the Rye, The Great Gatsby, To Kill a Mockingbird, to name a few. I will attempt at least one of them, I’ll try. Don’t get me started on the mixed tapes, I marked the pages of a list of songs to check out. I hope to fee ‘infinite’ too but I doubt I will now, there are special times for feeling like that when they do come they take us unaware and the moment we realized what we were feeling it will be unlike anything we’ve ever felt and unlike anything we’ll ever experience.

I think this is all I can go for now, I’ll include most of this in the review when I’m finished. Also I’d like to say that I’ve been reading quite a lot but failed to write about them so that means that I’m failing Carie’s reading challenge for2013 but the year’s still young though I bet she would agree I should pay more attention to the academic pile. As for why I’m not editing certain parts is because I end up changing what I want to say and eventually leads me to think what other people would like to hear me say (that last bit doesn’t happens awfully a lot, be assured). With that I say good morning on my end and good night to the other. I should sleep now. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “It’s 4 o’ clock, are you serious? (Includes a few insights on The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)

Talk to me

