That Christmas feeling

Merry Christmas everyone!

The Excellence Asylum

… feels as if it’s faded

With each year it get worse, you hear this every year

The sad darkness that creeps

Inside me with this realization finds a comfy spot and settles

*

Drive it away says the child that I was

Drive it away with the memories of dressing up

The old Christmas tree with grandma at the bakery

With the smell of fresh bread clinging to the branches

The shiny gold and silver globes hanging on limbs

The red train chugging under the tree with Santa on the roof

*

Remember the fun, the joy, the smells, the feelings,

The music, the laughter, the sticky chocolate

Remember what it was to be a kid at that time of year

Believing that the chubby old man would be here tonight

Remember …

*

Just remember and let the memories flood

Let it posses me once more

And when…

View original post 37 more words

2 thoughts on “That Christmas feeling

    1. Thank you Daphne, I’m glad it reached you 🙂 It’s just sad, every year the spirit of the holiday is eroded by people capitalizing on it and the feeling, the pure sweet and tender emotions of it all is almost forgotten … or it’s just me. So I tried to revive it in this poem.

      My Christmas was a sleepy one, my sisters and I kicked back and watched Rush Hour 1 from beginning to end! I am reminded why Jackie Chan is my favourite, and how hilarious Chris tucker is. There was some Harry Potter as well and hot chocolate! Thanks for asking, and I hope yours was even better 😀

Talk to me

