A thought, a line and a Sunday tune

Hi all, I hope you’re all having a good Sunday. I’m still catching up on a few more blogs and I’m expecting latest edition of Tammy‘s Sunday Funnies. It’s 29°C here in my part of South America which means for us we’re sweating our heads off and it could get even hotter in early December and at the moment the AC’s a bust but luckily I’m used to the heat, that and it looks like we’ll be having some late November rain soon.

  • The (really long) thought:

Lately I’ve gotten over this thing I had over make-up. You see, I’m one of those people who think that we should be happy with our natural looks and personally I think I’m betraying myself by wearing the stuff. I’ve got a tiny secret. I collect make up; blush, mascara and the bulk of it all goes to eye shadow, to just look at them. Usually, I’d lock up and play dress up because I actually like it but when I’m finished I’d rub it all off.

Then (and I mean a day or two ago) I thought about it and concluded that I’m being a tad foolish and if there’s a living soul that could nag me to death in a matter of 30 seconds or less, it’s me. I had one of those talks with myself – and Gale just flew in through the window, perhaps we’ll talk about it – and I said to myself that make up isn’t the problem, it’s that I’m having self esteem issues. I have to come to accept that I’m beautiful with and without the stuff. I’ve got nothing that needs hiding.

The stash

Really I’m not bad looking, not great looking either, but I’m okay with that. To me, it’s this thing with what I think is a large slice of society, like it’s written on the wall that at so-and-so age a young lady should start looking like one and slab copious amount of colourful, glittery gunk on her face in the hope of enhancing her outer beauty (God and the holy choir knows what on the inside, hide it quick!). I’ve been told, especially by my gran, that I should start putting the paint on. Gran, I know you mean well but don’t get your bloomers in a bunch, I’ll get to it soon enough.

Well folks I got there and I’m putting the war paint to use in moderate amounts though. Generally when it comes to appearance I don’t go all out except if it’s a special occasion, a really extra special something, otherwise it’s just a t shirt and a pair of jeans, studs and my purple glasses as my only accessories. The people who know me well are making all those very sweet compliments to my freshly coated facade while hardly trying to hide knowing  glances. I used to say I’m not gonna be one of them girls, all girly girly and stupid but now I am … not the stupid part … I think. Hmmm, I also said I’m not ever getting married … Eh, we’ll see in the next 10 years or so.

Now I see make up doesn’t make a person stupid, it’s just a thing us ladies (and even a few of you guys) move on to when we reach a certain age, yes it’s a norm in many societies but I can’t blame it on society. Mostly, it’s a harmless practice. It lends the much needed confidence but there are limits. It does well to remember that we’re all as beautiful naturally. And I don’t think I’m a girly girl, there are lots of kick a** gals in books who use it. I don’t have anything against GGs it’s just that I’m not like that and I don’t have hopes and dreams to join that club.

I don’t want to become one of the obsessed, always looking in a reflective surface to see if need more blush or something else. Admit it, there are women like that, we all know or have seen one of them. I don’t want to become dependent on it, it scares me sometimes.  I’m obsessed with being comfortable in my own skin yet I like make up (nothing’s wrong with that) and it’s a little conflicting but there’s a balance and I can find it if I’m willing to look and stop worrying wrinkles into existence. I over think too much.

Trivial? This is an important matter to me but it mightn’t seem like it to others, probably those of you with an envious load of self confidence, post me some will you?

  • Now for that Sunday tune, Rod Stewart’s stirring “Rhythm of my Heart” which I had the luck to find on one of Ethel‘s recent posts! I Love This Man. I Love His Music. ‘Nuff said, here’s the video.

I really enjoyed the bagpipes, looking at it I’m taken back to a time before He even drew my blueprint. The feeling is, as always, difficult to simply describe. This song is on repeat in my head for the past week, most of the words I know by heart. Wonderful song, the emotions it evokes … it’s sweet in an old yesteryear kind of way that always makes me smile in longing of wanting to be there and to sing along with the cold early morning wind in my hair. This is definitely a song for the road.

  • And finally, a handpicked randomly unrelated line/quote:

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

William Ernest Henley

How’s your day going so far? I was supposed to go to the beach but it’s looks like my fate would have none of that today 😦 Thoughts? Feel free to share 🙂

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “A thought, a line and a Sunday tune

  1. Interesting post–something for everyone!

    I go without make-up most of the time. When I do put on the “mask” it’s just a little eye-liner and mascara–that’s it. Anything fancier and I might end up looking like a clown or something! I never learned how to apply make-up properly… 😉

    1. Thanks, yeah I supposed that not everyone could stand reading about my insecurities so I threw in Rod to make it all a bit more bearable.

      Me too, I don’t use much but hardly on the mascara since it makes my eyes itch. I don’t think I will either, sometimes it can be so time consuming that in the end I hardly bother. 🙂

  2. Makeup isn’t the bad thing, it’s the way we treat it. I love makeup, and yet I totally agree that we are beautiful with our natural looks, and why? Because for me, wearing makeup is not to hide anything but to be creative and have fun with colours. It’s like painting but on the face 🙂

    1. I’m coming to see this more clearly now, it really is the way we treat it. Oh, Daph I know how you love your makeup and you know how to use it too! Yeah, face painting! I haven’t looked at it like that before. I’m letting my little sisters have a go at me, that should be interesting. Thanks, Daphne 😉

  3. A guy’s perspective: Confidence is sexy. If make-up gives you confidence, then make-up is sexy, but the effect is indirect. My girlfriend seldom wears make-up and is officially the sexiest woman in the world 😀

    Confucius says first love yourself, then love others.

    I really like your blog, and good luck for December 😉

Talk to me

