The Raindrop

I am the raindrop

That falls on her

Cheek in the drizzle

I cool her hot face

Troubled by betrayal

*

I am a raindrop

On his rail

I observe him reading

The papers, his reactions

His annoyance,

His anger

*

I am a raindrop

That adorns the rose

He bequeaths his lover

Her smile is magnified

A thousand fold on

My still surface

*

I am a raindrop

That has fallen

From the first rain

Evaporated and returned

To the sky in the clouds

Countless times before

*

I’ve been thorough the

Labyrinths of Venice

Drunk by great kings and queens

I’ve washed many heads

And fallen from waterfalls

*

I’ve seen men at their height of power

I’ve seen the many that fell

I’ve seen love, hurt, happiness

And a myriad of human emotions

*

I’ve been in wars

I saw men fight in the

Name of God, honour and country

I fell like tear drops as

Their souls rose up like smoke

And into the unknown

*

I’ve been a lot of places

Seen thrice as many people

Perhaps I’ve seen you

Maybe someday soon

So next time the heavens burst

Think  of me

© Devina S.

Originally written for Poets’ Corner.

5 thoughts on “The Raindrop

Talk to me

