Shubh Diwali! (Happy Diwali!)

Today is Diwali! If you don’t know what that is, it’s the Hindu festival of light and the date changes each year as it’s observed according to the lunar calendar and this night is said to be the darkest night of the year. Before the festivities of today everyone would ensure their houses are cleaned, fences are repaired and repainted if needed, all in preparation of the arrival of the Goddess of Light, wealth and prosperity Mother Lakshmi. According to Indian legend when Lord Rama, his wife Sita and his brother Latchman returned from a 14 year exile, imposed by one of his father’s jealous wives, the streets and steps of the people of the kingdom were lined with diyas. Here, Wiki explains the rest much better than I would:

The name “Diwali” or “Divali” is a contraction of “Deepavali”, which translates into “row of lamps”.Diwali involves the lighting of small clay lamps filled with oil to signify the triumph of good over evil.These lamps are kept on during the night and one’s house is cleaned, both done in order to make the goddess Lakshmi feel welcome. Firecrackers are burst because it is believed that it drives away evil spirits. During Diwali, all the celebrants wear new clothes and share sweets and snacks with family members and friends. Diwali is an official holiday in India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Mauritius, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, Malaysia, Singapore and Fiji.

Wikipedia (click for more)

Thinking about it now, it’s a little similar to Chinese New Year in a few aspects, but our spring festival is Phagwah, The Festival of Colours.

My first year exams are officially over and that means that I’m free to blog as I please! After my last two papers I went to the book store, Austin’s Book Services. You know how some people indulge in chocolate and tubs of Ben and Jerry’s, I indulge in books (and of course chocolate too!). Stepping into that place never fails to fill me with awe, it’s not that big but it’s packed with books of different descriptions, it just overwhelms my senses and tat makes it much harder to actually choose a book. This time I felt that I’d really splurged … But it felt nice, because it’s a pleasant change from the e-books I’ve taken to reading which was really because I live literally hundreds of miles away from a book store! 😦

Ah well that’s all from me for today, until next time Happy Diwali to you whoever you are and whatever walks of life you’ve come from. May the Goddess shine her lights of good fortune onto you and yours!

Cheers 😀

12 thoughts on “Shubh Diwali! (Happy Diwali!)

    1. Thank you Sajib! I hope you had a good Diwali 🙂 I’m sorry to say that I’m not seeing much celebration here in Guyana too, things aren’t what they used to be, before we’d have long strings of decorated cars and trucks with flashing colourful fairy lights on the night before Diwali. The other night I barely saw two 😦

  1. Such a relief when exams are over right? 🙂 I love this festival! It’s all about light and all the hindu families just light up their houses at night while we go on a road trip and just admire such beauty… 🙂

    1. Totally! 😀 Where I am it’s usually windy especially on this day, but yes I got to see some beautiful lights too! There were fireworks here and there, though for me it all was an uneventful day but okay 🙂 How are you, Daphne? I’ve got a lot of blogs to catch up on.

Talk to me

