Beethoven’s 5 Secrets – OneRepublic (Cello/Orchestral Cover) by The Piano Guys

Hi everyone, I wanted to throw in another post because I don’t know when I’ll get to do any more until next month. It’s my pleasure to share with you one of my recent finds on the realm of You Tube: The Piano Guys. I listen to them during my short breaks and I find that they give me this tingly feel-good sensation all over, that everything’s going to be all right. Prepare to be awed by Steve’s total awesomeness! The guy’s a boss with those cellos!

I mentioned The Piano Guys in a past post over at The Excellence Asylum not too long ago, but you might be thinking, “Where are the guys?” Usually you’ll either be seeing Steven Sharp Nelson on his cello or Jon Schmidt on the keys and they often play together but the two of them don’t complete the team. Here’s the bio on their channel:

Five guys from different walks of life with different skill sets, from different places — each had built their own careers: a piano store owner/videographer (Paul Anderson), a music producer (Al van der Beek), a videographer/editor (Tel Stewart), a pianist (Jon Schmidt), and a cellist (Steven Sharp Nelson). But all with the same ambition: to inspire the world with the talents given them. Each met through seemingly-happenstance, but divinely-influenced circumstances. Combined, they had the tools, the passion, and the drive necessary to independently build one of the most successful music video production companies in the world. They are famous for taking their instruments (especially grand pianos) and video equipment to unbelievable places. But above all, ThePianoGuys love what they do — and it shows. At the end of the day, they are ordinary guys that love their families and that thank God for the opportunity they have to do what they love.

Simply put: they’re bloody flipping brilliant! These guys make me want to learn the piano, violin even more, and recently, the cello (thanks Steve!). This is one of the very first videos of theirs that I had the luck to chance upon. It blew me away, I was grabbed instantly by the Beethoven quote.

Beethoven’s 5 Secrets is their version of One Republic’s Secrets I loved it. I’ve said this in the past that music is difficult to describe and that I believe that it wasn’t meant to be put into words. Music itself is a form of expression, its notes reflect what our soul is feeling and such things are complicated enough so it’s just best to listen and absorb the music for each song has its own tale to tell.

Steve’s obvious affection for his cellos is sweet, you really can see he’s enjoying himself because he’s smiling more than half of the time. Actually, he smiles a lot. He’s funny too and you’ll see what I mean in another post. There are more videos of these guys on YT and none so far has come to disappoint me.

I hope I’ve helped spark your curiosity and nudged you into the first steps of infatuation of The Piano Guys!

Cheers 🙂

5 thoughts on “Beethoven’s 5 Secrets – OneRepublic (Cello/Orchestral Cover) by The Piano Guys

Talk to me

