My books so far …

According to my book count on Goodreads, I have read 165 books in total and some more if you count the ones I can’t remember reading, there are a few that I can’t recall their names so they weren’t recorded. I’m not writing all this to show off (though I am proud of myself) it’s just to tally up and summarize what I’ve read up till now.

I began this year with a paltry twenty books because I knew this will be a busy year (but it’s funny though that I don’t feel as busy as I should) The other day after completing the initial 20 books I ramped it up to 50, so I have 30 more to read before 2013 and leaving me currently 13 books behind.

*sighs* I hope by the end of November I’ll catch up again.

These days I’ve been reading quit a lot of urban fantasy and sprinkles of YA here and there but I want to fit some dystopia and classics in as well. Here are a couple of lists. Oh yes, there are lists but these aren’t that long.

To be re-read

The Scarlet Pimpernel (Scarlet Pimpernel #1) by Baroness  Emmuska Orczy

– I read this about one or two years ago and I definitely know that I wasn’t fully capable of grasping the significance of particular events .The story takes place during the French revolution in and alternated from England and France.

The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman

– I’d read this only last year but like the previous book (above) I failed to understand certain points, but not that much that I was left utterly confused. It was a lovely book, one I jumped right into! I simply enjoyed Lyra and the concept of daemons which got me to thinking about what animal mine would assume.

The Half Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) by J.K Rowling

– This is my second favourite book in the series. I’ll be re-reading it for the heck of it and also to relive that particular time in my life when I could have been found all over the house reading the books, to recreate the feelings and images that formed in my head while reading it. Absolutely magical!

To Be Read (books I have that I haven’t read yet)

The Fellowship of The Rings (Lord of The Rings #1) J.R.R Tolkien

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium #2) by Steig Larsson

The February 23rd Coup by Chetram Singh

It’s likely that I’ll deviate from this but it’s the plan for now. I was thinking about throwing in my wish list here but I’ll save it for another time.

Have you met your reading goal for this year as yet? What are your favourites so far? Are you finding time to read?

10 thoughts on “My books so far …

  1. I am just learning a bit about GoodReads. They send me alerts of new books in my chosen genres, but I haven’t used them to keep track of books that I’ve read or want to read. I should do that. But I have to explore how to do that. Editing my own book is taking up so much of my time that I have time for little else AND try to keep up with reading other blogs.

    I’m reading a second Gillian Flynn’s novel, Gone Girl. She is one heck of a writer. She pulls you in and won’t let you go. I usually read memoirs, but a good piece of fiction is a welcome change.

    1. You really should if you want to be more organized, just play around with it and you’ll get it in no time. I understand how busy you’re with your memoir, why don’t you take a short hiatus from blogging till you feel better how you book is coming along?

      Girl Gone sounds very interesting, the blurb got me wondering. Tell me what you think about it when you finish. Yep, I think that as much inspiring or otherwise a person’s life is or has been, it’s always good to sneak out of the back door leaving reality if only for a while.
      If you need to know anything about goodreads, let me know. You can click on my gravatar in my sidebar and you’ll be taken to my GR profile.
      🙂

      1. Thanks, if I need help with GR, I’ll take you up on that.

        The book is coming along slowly. I’m incorporating the edits I’m getting from the people 6 people with whom I shared the manuscript. While all of them picked up some of the same obvious typos, each are noticing different areas that could use a bit of smoothing over. This process is taking longer than I thought it would, but I want to give the best version I can to a professional editor so s/he can focus on content/organization/theme rather than picky typo stuff. Soon. Soon…

    1. Thank you! It was during that very year, 2010, I became infatuated with reading. What did you study at Cambridge, if you don’t mind me asking? I see you’re really into chai and I’m afraid the only kind I’ve ever drank were the ones enclosed in paper and found on the supermarket shelves.

      Thanks for coming by, know that you’re always welcome here 😉

    2. I turned 18 this year, and I think you’ve just inflated my head a bit! I’m currently doing my A levels, this being my first year with chem, bio, maths and English. College-wise, I hoping very much to get into Cambridge but as it’s not set in stone that I might get through I’m checking out other collages/uni. Originally I was going for a doctor so that would have led me to Natural Sciences, too.

      I’m now planning on pursuing a career as an environmental consultant and I’m not certain if that falls under NS … I searched on Cambridge’s website but I’m not sure if I missed it or I’m hoping that I did. I’ll have to give them a call because it looks like my e-mails aren’t specific enough and they keep referring me to their site.

      1. Let me know how the application goes. 🙂

        Prospective Environmental Consultants would probably want to study Ecology in Third Year (so something like Biology, Physiology, Evolution and Maths in First Year).

        Above all, remember that there are no good universities; there are only good students.

Talk to me

