Procrastination nation

Post originally written on 25th July (See? I do it all the time)

In psychology, procrastination refers to the act of replacing high-priority actions with tasks of lower priority, or doing something from which one derives enjoyment, and thus putting off important tasks to a later time.

Wikipedia

Via silken-spirits.blogspot.com

 

In my previous post I’d mentioned that I felt like kicking myself and that was due to my bad habit of procrastinating. Usually I’m a late riser and mom had yet another rant about it because I decided that I can’t help going in late (I work night shifts) so I’m going to wake late anyways so what’s wrong with staying up later to do some revision, I asked her. “It’s too late” was her answer, so in another attempt to get something done I hit the hay at 12 the other night. Success! I woke up at nine. But well … I got distracted.

Dirty Harry was on, I couldn’t miss Clint Eastwood in action! Then Ben 10 Alien Force was on around 2 o’ clock and I couldn’t miss that either! Television is both a blessing and a curse. It’s my fault and nobody else’s (I understand this is grammatically incorrect but it serves my purpose, my apologies to more strict grammar Nazis out there) and I will go so far as to admit that I need help. I frustrate myself so much I don’t know what to do and well this sets my mood for the rest of the day.

I can’t write anymore on this subject for fear that I’ll go deeper into depression than I already am. Have you experienced this too? Have you found any solution?

I haven’t gone any length in depth with the concept of procrastination, but I’ll get to it … later.

😀

2 thoughts on “Procrastination nation

  1. When you start to procrastinate you feel like you just can’t stop it. Because of course, we all say that we’ll stop… later! The struggle is hard but with much faith and determination you’ll get over it! I did 🙂 Just have a precise goal in mind, i.e. if I don’t do this now, I won’t be able to… but I want to be able to …!! So I have to … now!

    1. Oh gosh, it is a struggle! Truth be told, if I don’t get over it now I’ll be in a heap of big trouble soon. A goal you say? Well I’ll be working on it, let’s just hope it works. Thanks Daphne 🙂

Talk to me

