Random Word Ramble: Sunday

A month or two ago I’d came up with this idea for a post series called ‘Random Word Ramble’ originally it was ‘Random Word Ramble Tuesday’ then it became ‘Random Word Ramble Wednesday’ because I always end up posting it on Wednesdays instead of Tuesdays. Then I stopped, because I didn’t really have much time to sit, think and then write, that’s why regulars would notice all the re-blogs. What happens is that when I find an interesting word that I’d very much like to use, I make up sentences with it and then it turns into a paragraph and usually leads to something more. I normally round up words from either my own dictionary or Dictionary.com.

So last night I curled up with my Oxford, flipping through I found some really interesting words which I promptly wrote down and made sentences with. My version is the Compact Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus Third Edition, and it had British spellings and alternate American spelling as well. I found today’s subject word on Page 122 and it happened to be a British word:

  • Cagoule /kuh-gool/ noun

– Brit. a lightweight hooded waterproof jacket.

At first this might seem pedestrian enough, but I came up with something that was quite the contrary. Dig my vocab 😛 Here goes …

~~~

Miekelle threw cautious glances about her before she stepped out of the shadows and into the dimly lit stretch of street before her. It was deserted, except for the few bundled vagrants curled up on scraps of cardboard and newspaper next to their shopping carts. Mists escape from them with every rise and fall of their chests.

They slept under a starless black abyss and were whipped by the merciless wind that cut like razor ice, it threatened the hood off of her raven crown and racked shivers through her sturdy lithe frame. She hugged the cagoule closer to her, and looking down from the ominous heavens with stinging eyes, she stared straight ahead and briskly strode forward into the capricious night. Like a woman on a mission, which was precisely what she was.

They said it can be done, confident that she was capable. Even if they had thought otherwise she would have struck out on her own, because it must be her that finishes this, she had other motives than the obvious, something that they’ll remain ignorant of. Miekelle was a child born of the night, knew its every crevice and texture, and if there is one thing to be known about her it is that revenge is her forte.

~~~

Well? What do you think? I believe it’s one of my best yet. I don’t haven’t a clue who they are and I’m not sure what it is that has to be done – as yet – but I do know that Miekelle is hell-bent on getting the record straight. As for Miekelle, I’ve recently became acquainted with her. Her character needs more development  and I look forward to know her better as she seems to be a rather interesting and mysterious young woman.

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with the Kate Daniels series by Illona Andrews, Miekelle reminds me of her, heck I think I might even see some Mercy Thompson (by Patricia Briggs) in her as well, but Kate is definitely there …

I think I’m beginning to understand why so many writers like to discover their characters, the concept of it, we merely come up with them but it is they – the characters themselves – who decide what kind of people they are and I don’t think a have a say in that area.

Ah well, I’m always open for suggestions and constructive criticism is 100% welcome in these parts. Thank you all for taking time to read this!

6 thoughts on “Random Word Ramble: Sunday

    1. Why thank you, Lorna! That makes two of us 🙂 Yes, that really helps a lot and it’s fun. If you hadn’t heard about dictionary.com, you can check it out if you’re interested, good stuff 🙂

    1. Well there are words that we do know but we don’t really feel any need to use them, cagoule is one. I’d expect that if I were to use it here I’ll only get blank stares and end up looking stupid with no fault of my own. I hate that when certain other people’s ignorance makes me look like a fool. Ah well, I’m delighted that you thought it was good 🙂

  1. Omg this is so well-written! Your vocabulary level is awesome! And getting to know your characters is just like getting acquainted to real people – so much fun and they can be the one surprising you!

    1. Thanks Daphne! I’ve been working on it, words are there for us to use ’em right? Oh my gosh, it feels just like that, meeting actual people! I haven’t really paid attention before when I scribble but as I kept at it I just discover new things but I don’t always find time to do more with them, the characters and their stories.
      So I satisfy myself with short stories and paragraphs this this one until I get time to work on them. Even if I don’t continue, it was fun while I wrote them 🙂

Talk to me

