Alan Jackson’s “Where were you (When the World Stopped Turning)” and 9/11.

I’ve heard “Where were you (When the World Stopped Turning)” – a song based on 9/11 – play over the the stereo a few times before but I didn’t catch the lyrics, what he was really singing about … until a minute ago. I cried. I’m not ashamed of it. It’s almost, what, eleven years after 9/11 but the memory never fails to bring tears streaming down from my eyes. I was blessed that my family were safe that day but … sadly many others weren’t as fortunate. I may not be American but that doesn’t mean I can’t feel the pain of their loss, that I cannot mourn with them, because I do, every year and every day.

I pray for the lives that were lost and for their families, I know they’ll never forget them but I hope for those who didn’t move on I wish them courage to do so. This horrifying tragedy not only shook the United States but brought American people together. It was an event that … just swept us off of our feet, everyone every where, but this opened our eyes to realize that what we have is only for the moment, in another it can all vanish right before us. Let’s don’t take each other for granted and whoever and whatever else we hold dear.

As for those behind this nightmare, I don’t care how or where they live as long as they are prevented from wrecking lives of the innocent  and get caught. I know when they meet judgement day they’ll pay for the lives they’ve taken.

And I couldn’t ever forget all of the men and women who had lost their lives saving others and the ones that are still out there far from the warmth of home, their courage and selflessness inspire me beyond any words can describe.

I’ll never forget, as long as I live, the day ‘When the World Stopped Turning’.

God bless us all.

Peace.

2 thoughts on “Alan Jackson’s “Where were you (When the World Stopped Turning)” and 9/11.

    1. Thank you Daphne:) 9/11 was a huge and painful scar in the history of the U.S, but sometimes the worst of times brings out the best in people. It touched my heart to see strangers holding hands and begin to heal each other and how they came together to make the best of what was left and try to help however the could, it was a similar sensation I felt when I saw what had happened in Japan. I practically felt the love halfway ’round the world.
      Thanks for dropping by, and hugs right back at ya 🙂

Talk to me

