A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) by George R.R. Martin

via Goodreads

Rated it: 4 stars

Finished on: May 4th

I’d read A Game of Thrones a few months before so it only took me a little while to get reacquainted with everyone and all that had happened. A Clash of Kings is a bloody good (spot the pun!) second book. The people, the places, the treason, it’s all so realistic and I can’t help but be emotionally invested.

Theon was somewhat of a surprise. I understand what drove him, what ate at him but he was impatient and too full of himself. I hate him for what he did to Winterfell and I so so hate him what he’s done to further split the Stark children apart. At the same time though, I felt sorry for the fool but that pride is a terrible thing.

The expedition beyond the wall was exciting to be sure. He hadn’t known what he was in for when he joined the Night’s Watch but it’s becoming clear to me it’s where Jon’s supposed to be. Who is he other than the bastard of Winterfell? The trials he’s to grapple with and battles he sure to face ahead will challenge and shape him and perhaps eventually he’ll begin to learn what sort of stuff he’s made of. I am itching to know what the wildlings are up to. When will we finally see this King Beyond The Wall?

Bran. I don’t know what to say. He’s the one in the most precarious situation, him and Rickon. Even cripples have to fight. I hope to god that Osha is as good as her word.

Tyrion Lannister is the black sheep of that lot, in more ways than one. He knows what Cerci and Jaime had been up to, he knows what those of his house are capable of. So so very unlike Ned Stark, he keeps what has been under wraps, biding time, and playing chess and still remain loyal to his house. While being Hand of the King he does what he can for the realm, not for himself.

Okay I mean, fine, he’s probably getting something out of it but he gives a damn about what happening to the people. What he gets for trying: taunts, but to be certain they do know to fear the halfman, he’s not called the Imp for nothing and he’s got more wits about him than most.

Sansa is learning the truth the hard way by living with it every day. I used to get annoyed with her but I realized she was a gentle girl who took to the grooming of a lady and was innocence personified. Now the blinders have been ripped off with a ruthless hand and she’s learning to cope with the world the way it really is. That’s not to say that she still isn’t a child, one that’s surrounded with power hungry lions on the prowl around her like circling sharks. I have hope for the girl, she’s not brittle. Sansa’s strength reminds me of her lady mother.

Arya, on the other hand, is different from her sister as the sun is from the moon. Her chapters are the spice to the whole book. Her tenacity and spirit will may as well see her through this war. She’s a Stark through and though, in her own way, and her father’s daughter. I wonder where her path leads to after she pulled that bluff.

Catelyn Stark. The woman’s a piece of steel. I can’t imagine how she copes, being separated from her children and forever grieving for her dead husband. I never doubted her metal and I thinks she’s as brave as the knights in their armor for a woman fights her own wars too.

From the first book I knew I’d devour the series but I do have a thing or two to pick about. In the acknowledgement Mr. Martin said in a line, “The devil’s in the details …” and it’s true enough but often it would seem that he writes too much unnecessary details. What a few lines should suffice he tells it in a chunk of a paragraph. It’s distracting much attention from the story. Another is the number of characters, even in that he’s realistic. It’s kind of a challenge to keep track of and I hear it gets more … worrying.

As strong as they all are they are but human, flesh and blood, and could break. War is is bleak business and I’m not one to say much as I sit safely here writing this but I know what I know. Whether they live or would that they die depends on if they know how to play the game of thrones.

19 thoughts on “A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) by George R.R. Martin

  1. To be honest, I’m still annoyed with Sansa, I mean yes it’s not her fault for being born innocent, but she doesn’t stand up for herself until it’s too late, not sure how to put it but she feels like a filler.

    Now, Ary and Jon snow? they are out there making a stand and making a name, anyways that’s my opinion, don’t hate lol

    • My dear, she can’t risk it just now (and do recall I’m still a the start of book three), they’d only beat her. Hmm, I never felt that she’s a filler, she’s learning and trying to survive at the time being.

      Jon and Ary are in different situations, like way way different, where they have to act on the spot, most of the time and take up arms.

      I think Sansa has a significant role to play further down, I can’t wait so see how much she’ll grow as a character. Nah, it’s okay if you think that, likewise I tell you like it is :D

  2. Joffery was still a bit of a dick in this book too but not as bad as Bolton’s bastard. I can’t believe how much worse he is in the books than on the TV series.

  3. no no no no no! ha! I read the first paragraph and stopped right there! I just finished the first book and can’t wait to find this one on the road to exchange them but I don’t want to know! ;-) I’m sure you loved it and I’ll come back and read this article in its whole when I’m done reading the book!

    Just a quick question, though: do you enjoy the TV series too? I’ve started watching season 1 after finishing Book 1 but haven’t gone very far yet…

    Happy readings to you! but I’ll read you later!
    Jul’

    • If you avoid the second one, the rest is spoiler-free so you can go ahead! I do like the TV series, I love the authenticity of the sets and the costumes and pretty much everything.

      Though I have a bone or two to pick regarding to how true they kept to the books. I understand some things had to be edited because of the time frame they have to work within but there’s this one part with Drogo and Dany that they need not have changed, it gave a distorted impression of him.

      I finished season one and paused halfway in season two, need a breather after all this excitement with dragons!

      Happy readings to you too, Jul’ :)

      • Can’t wait to read Book 2… I know what you mean about Drogo, I already feel it midway through Season 1. and I can already sense the changes but unfortunately, as much as they want to keep true to the books, you know far well that it’s never 100% feasable.

        we’re only halfway through Season 1 so far. Raul enjoys it more because he doesn’t except anything.

        Our “curse” is to want to read the books before seeing the Series; those who don’t don’t have anything to complain about. ;-)

        Enjoy reading though! It’s a lot of fun, always!

      • we should meet someday! we’re like-minded! ;-)

        Books first, always! I don’t like when they try to force a character on my mind in movies, I’d rather imagine them before, even if it means being (sometimes) disappointed by the actors they choose…

        The road is beautiful. Every Day. Like straight from the book of my dreams!

      • Oh, that would be lovely! Perhaps someday.
        We could shake hands on that. Books come first, it’s the rawest source to draw up opinion on and so often more richer.
        Well, to recite a charming Irish blessing:

        “May the road rise up to meet you
        May the wind be always at your back
        May the sun shine warm upon your face
        And the rain fall soft upon your fields
        And until we meet again
        May God hold you in the palm of his hand”
        :D

Don't be shy, drop me a line or two :)

