So, I went to the book store …

And this is what I found when I got back.

Looks like a pretty good haul if you ask me.

Looks like a pretty good haul if you ask me.

Eeep! I’ve been waiting for a couple of ages to get the Divergent series in physical copy so I could gobble them up properly. The covers are delicious and the two last ones are lovely hardcovers! I’ll be taking it easy with Percy Jackson but I have high hopes for those. A few of my aunts have recommended Agatha Christie, so check. Who am I kidding, I got my last push of encouragement from Doctor Who, there was that episode of Christie and a freaking huge wasp, Donna was cute about the whole thing.  Not exactly big a fan of Girsham, however, Kid Lawyer looks interesting though it sort of reminds me of his The Client, the most obvious difference is that this one’s for ages 8 and up.

I have an inclination to devour bits and pieces of archaeological finds, basically origins, and naturally when I stumbled across Written in Stone, I said why the heck not. I made sure to check that the narrative wasn’t bone dry, fortunately it seems promising. Unfortunately, when I was about to leave my eye snagged on a much larger, much detailed and graphic text. I was officially broke save for a few bucks and boy didn’t that suck? Also, upon the discovery of my cold pockets my heart clanged in painful angst when I saw Stephen King’s neat guide on writing. I’m mentally wailing at this point.

Oh well, I did go on a budget. I’m kind of worried though. I already have a stack of books to be read and I’ve finally dusted off The Fault in Our Stars , The Hobbit and The Great Gatsby, which are all on my currently-reading shelf. That’s how I’ll be passing this year, actually getting around reading the books I bought for that purpose.

I’m thinking (break out the shock blankets, people), thinking about how I shouldn’t force myself to finish books I’m not currently crazy about. To be clear, the ones I’ve mentioned are popular right now and what they all have in common is that they’ve all are being made into movies if they weren’t already. I’m curious so I hitched a ride on to the bandwagon, not because of the fact that they are popular and everybody’s reading them; things often go down hill from there. I’ve bought the books already and I’d hate to see them rot under pressure of the dust of disuse, I could give them away but since I’m averse to even lending them to close family and pets I can’t see myself doing that very soon.

I’ll try my best to be fair. I’ve read that book hoarders like myself have several towers of the unread lurking in all corners of their miniature heavenly abodes. I believe that I’m subconsciously building a library and those are my first, my initiate stacks. So it probably means that it’s okay to leave some books to simmer. However it will happen and in what ever order, what I do know is that I’m rapidly running out of space. Have you read any of these? What do you think?

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.”
―     J.D. SalingerThe Catcher in the Rye    

6 thoughts on “So, I went to the book store …

  1. Loved the Fault in Our Stars, and Gatsby and The Hobbit (of course…), anything Riordan, think I’ve read all of Christie…Great choices! Can’t have too many books!

Don't be shy, drop me a line or two :)

