The Blog of 2012 Award

starsHey everyone, how’s it going? I’m sitting at my desk typing this out for you while BBC 6 Radio plays in the background, a recent habit I acquired in the past few days, one of the good habits :) I’m thinking about how my now – the present – and everything in it will be an old dusty thing of the past, for instance the modern music now playing and the station is even airing songs of yesteryear.

I’m thinking how years to come I’ll remember lecturing my two little sisters and brother this morning that what’s not theirs they must not touch. Ranting to their wary round faces that I don’t want them trashing our shared room and God help me I will blow it if they do it anyway. Ten years or so from now I might remember this day when I chastise my own kids. I realize now, this very instant, that memories are recorded videos that are stashed away. Some aren’t damaged as others and those are the ones that survive time, fond memories like these.

Now down to business … I just have to let it out and say that I haven’t been very patient of late, I’ve been nominated several times in the past couple months and I have not been getting them posted. I understand that I’m not really obliged to do that if I don’t want to but as someone who had once been sensitive when another blogger hadn’t responded to my recognition to their blog via an award, now I understand that sometimes with everything that’s going on it can be too much. I feel compelled to apologize to those of you that have awarded me and I haven’t responded. Sorry guys.

Ahh, that really felt nice though not as nice as I felt when a couple mornings ago I was awarded by the lovely ladies Daphne and Donnah for the Blog of 2012 Award. Thank you both! This is a new award that I’ve seen around.

The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

  1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award.
  2. Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.
  3. Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!).
  4.  Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them.
  5. You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience.
  6.  As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…!

Here are the shining stars of my 2012 in no particular order:

The Dribbling Pensioner – Harry’s a hilarious pensioner and poet clicking away on the computer in Belfast who has brightened up my days considerably since I found him earlier this year. His blunt way of stating his thoughts at whatever and whoever he writes about inspires me to do the same. I assume he is so because he’s been around long enough to know not to hold back.

Rant and Roll – a free spirit based in Vancity. Her distinctive peppy voice has always made me smile, her expressions always seem to add depth to whatever she’s written and will make you want to read everything she’s written, I’d know. Oh and her photos, they make me burn with envy sometimes but mostly with admiration and also her fun dresses, don’t get me started!

Sweet Jellybean - this is Donnah whom I intended to award before she’d nominated me. She’s a fashion savvy gal and sweet momma to a beautiful little boy. She reviews mostly cosmetics (the healthy and environmentally friendly feel-good kinds). I can’t believe it’s only been almost a month since I’ve met her via Freshly Pressed! D’s a beam of sunlight in the perpetually rainy England, she’s been very supportive in those times I feel real blue and full of insightful thoughts and I’m not sure she even knows it. She’s always a tweet away!

Evolution of Insanity – hosted by none other than ‘Ard Pete Howorth. He’s a cool dude, movie buff and video gamer and the occasional Gangsta. He has a regular Music Monday post every week that I’ve recently come to pay attention to. Met him at the of what was ‘The Dark Globe’ in it’s previous life and now known as ‘Legends Undying’. From the snippets of his writing he’s shared with us I can safely say he’s a pretty decent writer with great potential. He plans on becoming a millionaire someday soon. Yo Pete remember me ‘kay? Haha!

Legends Undying - like I said it used to be The Dark Globe and now it hosts aspiring authors and even published one (like James Mahoney). I seriously need to drop by more often and I’m feeling guilty for not doing that as much as I’d like to. They’ve got good stuff going on in those parts so make sure you visit because you’re bound to find something you’ll love.

Poets’ Corner - is just another world completely for me, whose admin happens to be our very own Harry. Even though I’m a writer there I award this award to the other talented poets who bear their hearts and souls with words that will touch you, sometimes you mightn’t understand but it will affect you because isn’t that what poetry is? It’s essentially words, in any order, that expresses what is being felt.

Our authors list has grown considerably over the past few months consisting of people from varying corners of the world with their own ways so I believe readers are most likely to come across poems they can relate to. Poet’s Corner has been an outlet for me where I receive constructive feedback in addition to the one I get here on HC&B.

Emilia Blog - Ahh, thank you Elizabeth and Ermisenda for being so dedicated to your weekly Picture It and Write! photo prompts, they’ve encouraged me to get back to writing otherwise my brain along with its creative energies would have all rotted into nothingness. Thank you girls so much!

The Quiet Voice – hosted by the brilliant Thomas Le, is the first WP blog I remember visiting and ultimately spearheaded me into the whole wide world of blogging. Thomas and his insightful posts about books, life and the often difficult people in it and the pains and joys of being a teenager in our generation has changed the way I thought about almost everything I’ve taken for granted. Issues like gay rights I’ve let hang around in the background but now I’m paying them the much needed attention and the way the gay community is affecting society today. To be very clear, I support LGBT people and it would be rather unfortunate if I offended anyone by say that, but it is the truth, so deal. Thanks Thomas.

My Story to You – Andy Chih is simply a lovely guy who dotes on his pretty little girl. He’s gone through some rough times and he shares advice and his experiences in the form of lines of brief thoughts with powerful messages and poetry which are usually accompanied by his stunning photography. He’s another twitter buddy whose always willing to have a chat with little old me for which I am always grateful.

La Plume Noire – is the classy photo-blog of Kirsty Pang, another blogger who I chanced to meet via The Dark Globe. Words aren’t needed to describe her work just pop over and you’ll know what I’m talking about. For those you who aren’t aware I dabble in photography and so Kirsty has always been an inspiration.

Laughing at everyday life – where Tammy Adams the ice cream lady brings us smiles and LOLs 365 days a year and she does get it done. Her Sunday Funnies are my favourite Sunday reads. Depression after a bad day and frowns don’t stand a chance in Tammyland. She’s formed an elite group of Non-normal People of which I am a member where we sort of get together (sort of) and shake our heads at normal boring people, poor things don’t know how lovely it feels to be crazy.

Lorna’s Voice – has her place in Blogs I Recommend where I’ve described her as being a Buddhist with a funny bone. She’s back from vacation and ready to enlighten us with her usual lively humour and sharp wit. Keep an eye out for her upcoming memoir early next year. I totally recommend you go over there and see for yourself what a  riot she is!

There are so many I want to include but I can’t just state their blogs and not say why I appreciate them but I’d like to take this chance to thank you all because since the first time I visited your blogs my life has changed in ways I’ll never find out for you have affected me from that instant on. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

I hope with all my heart all of you out there where ever you are, are having a satisfying, if not peaceful, Sunday.

Cheers and happy holidays :D

18 thoughts on “The Blog of 2012 Award

  1. D’aaaaw! Ms. D you never, ever fail to put a huge smile on my face (and this time some colour to my cheeks to match! I blush!). You are a brilliant, gutsy gal, and I love reading about your loves – be them music, books, hot chocolatey drinks, Rod Stewart – as well as all the trials and tribulations that come with being a kick-butt young woman in your home town. You remind me so much of myself at your age (only my younger self would be jealous at your poise and self-confidence.)

    xx

    • Woah, woah, woah there Ms. E! You run the risk of the explosion of my crazy big head :D Thanks for being such a great gal. Oh moi, that’s a nice thought! But honey, I don’t know about the poise and confidence thing though, it’s a work in progress but I don’t think I have it in me to do stand up!

  2. Pingback: A year in blogging « bluedeckshoe.com

  3. If there’s one thing I like, it’s recognition. When I become a published author I’m going to put on the back of it,

    “He’s a pretty decent writer” – Devina :D

    Don’t you worry, when I become a millionaire you’ll be in store for a few G’s. :)

  4. Pingback: Being You and Getting Blogging Love « Laughing at Everyday Life

Don't be shy, drop me a line or two :)

