Goodreads – Simply Amazing

Devina:

If Goodreads were a guy, I’d have married him! It’s a book lover paradise!

Originally posted on We Heart Reading:

goodreads.com

Goodreads – Simply Amazing                                   

Goodreads is one amazing site. If you haven’t checked it out yet, you should go do so now. Its is absolutely amazing. It lets you create your own profile, on which you can add friends, books you’re reading, books you’re wanting to read, books you’ve read, and so much more.

Not only can you add everything about the books you want/read/reading, you can also add your favorite genres and authors. Not to mention that you can browse books on their many lists, which include “Worst books of all time/Best books of all time/Most popular/Recommended”and many more. The have trivia, quizzes, writing groups, giveaways, e-books, and pretty much every thing under the sun that has to do with books. You can also review and rate books.

Like I said…

View original 14 more words

Random Word Ramble: Sunday

A month or two ago I’d came up with this idea for a post series called ‘Random Word Ramble’ originally it was ‘Random Word Ramble Tuesday’ then it became ‘Random Word Ramble Wednesday’ because I always end up posting it on Wednesdays instead of Tuesdays. Then I stopped, because I didn’t really have much time to sit, think and then write, that’s why regulars would notice all the re-blogs. What happens is that when I find an interesting word that I’d very much like to use, I make up sentences with it and then it turns into a paragraph and usually leads to something more. I normally round up words from either my own dictionary or Dictionary.com.

So last night I curled up with my Oxford, flipping through I found some really interesting words which I promptly wrote down and made sentences with. My version is the Compact Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus Third Edition, and it had British spellings and alternate American spelling as well. I found today’s subject word on Page 122 and it happened to be a British word:

  • Cagoule /kuh-gool/ noun

- Brit. a lightweight hooded waterproof jacket.

At first this might seem pedestrian enough, but I came up with something that was quite the contrary. Dig my vocab :P Here goes …

Continue reading