My obsession with exclamation marks and smily faces

Source: seaspray-itsawonderfullife.blogspot.com. Image removed for copyright avoidance purposes.

You might or might not have noticed but I’m somewhat a Grammar Nazi (GN), I shriek at the sight of a misspelling in my posts and I have have to correct it ASAP, but sometimes I have this urge to punch in one or three more ‘!’ than necessary and to insert quite a few of those smiley expressions at one time just to show how much I enjoyed a post, for example: I didn’t just like but I loved loved those photos Daphne had posted of her trip in Malaysia, but the Grammar Nazi in me suppressed the impulse to over do it. Speaking from experience, while on the internet it is much harder to discern someone’s reaction to a post or a comment, oh they’d type it out for you plain and straight alright, but often there’s hardly any emotion, any vibes to be felt at all (unless they make it very clear). Exclamation marks (even a single one) and smiley faces sets this tone to what you’ve said, to me it says: Awesome, good stuff, dude!

What I, or anyone else, may have to say might sound different to each other, i.e give the wrong impression. Joey will playfully joke no-harm-intended about Priscella’s new pink socks and think himself mighty clever but

Source: knowhr.com. Image removed for copyright avoidance purposes.

Prissy might take it another way completely, the wrong way. And that’s bad really really bad because she’s a black belt, a cop and has a temper of a bull in one of those runs in Spain. Now she stops talking to him, doesn’t visit his blog, and if she does it’s only to drop snide comments, all for the sake of a pair of stupid pink socks (for the love of all things holy, don’t tell her I said that), mostly because she misread the message what he meant to send across. I don’t know what happened to him. I’m too scared to find out.

Yes, I’m a Grammar Nazi who loves !!! and :) :D :P and I shall celebrate! Party over my place, ha ha just kidding :P But mostly out of politeness I restrain myself especially when I comment on blogs I’m not too familiar with. Sometimes I put my heart into a comment on one of my favourite blogs, only to be replied with a short flat something, I’m not saying I expect people to exclaim away or telling anyone how to write but more enthusiasm is encouraging, I know that sometimes replying is not that simple depending on what a reader has written, but I’m just saying.

Sometimes I wonder Is there malice or sarcasm behind his/her words or sincere interest? I wouldn’t know, that is unless I know her personally and am privy to her attitude, so what I’ve decided to do is to take what I read at face value because it can be such a waste of time reading between the lines for hidden meanings when in reality there isn’t any (well, okay most of the time but not all of the time).

I’ve been wanting to write this for a good time now and it’s like a mini weight off of my chest. Everybody knows at least one Grammar Nazi, what do you think of us? I’d like to believe that a majority of GNs would be in Ravenlclaw, do you think so too? Any who, that’s all and done, now I’ve got some revision to catch up with. On a random note, what do you guys think about environmental law? I’m considering it …

G’night or Morning where ever you are ;)

Devina

5 thoughts on “My obsession with exclamation marks and smily faces

  1. Ohh I agree with every word you’ve said! I love !!!! and :) :) :) Sometimes I think people may find me irritating for it but like you I want to show how much I enjoyed and post or enjoyed chatting to that person.

    I must admit my spelling and grammar has never been very good, but using WordPress is actually making it better!

    Lovely post! :)

    (Ohh would you look at that I’m at the !!’s and :) ‘s again!)

    • Awesome! Yeppers, Word Press has done just that for me too, I’m very conscious of my silly mistakes and I work on it to get better :)
      As far as chatting goes, it’s smiley face paradise but what bugs me is the constant stream of ‘lol’ ‘omg’ omfg’ and the rest. I do however use ‘lol’ or ‘omg’, but hardly.

      I love your enthusiasm, feeling it all the way over here :D I super happy you enjoyed it :)

Don't be shy, drop me a line or two :)

