Symphony City

Devina:

What a beautiful book, the bold and colourful textures are a treat to the eyes! I hope to get my hands on a copy soon. Great review!

Originally posted on Design of the Picture Book:

by Amy Martin

I highly, HIGHLY recommend clicking over to Amy’s website. She has beautiful work everywhere you look, including some wordless spreads from Symphony City. Her style commands attention while still being sweet and subtle. {I particularly enjoy the Alphabet of Los Angeles. Taco Truck!} And I’m eyeballing one of her prints for my teeny corner of the house. Symphony City is her first book.

Music drives the story in Symphony City, which is so interesting given that it’s obviously in book form: art + pictures. And that is what is so magical about this book. The language is spare and staccato, leaving room for the pictures to whisk the reader away. Even the endpapers and title page sing with beats and rests.

nothing to do

we can make it if we hurry

{This is my favorite spread in the whole entire book. I love that…

View original 225 more words